North Dakota Woman Elected Chair United Soybean Board

North Dakota Woman Elected Chair United Soybean Board

Vanessa Kummer, of Colfax, is the first woman and the first North Dakotan to chair the national checkoff organization.

Vanessa Kummer, a soybean producer from Colfax, N.D, has been elected chairperson of the United Soybean Board.

Kummer is the first woman to be elected chairperson of  USB and the first North Dakotan elected to the position.  This is Kummer's ninth year as a USB director. She has served three years on the executive committee, and was the communications chair for two years.

Kummer will have a busy agenda leading the soybean checkoff's implementation of a new strategic plan. and addressing recommendations from a farmer-driven assessment of USB.

It is our vision to make U.S. soybeans the leader in the global oilseed industry," says Kummer. "We plan to create and maintain partnerships to keep U.S. soybean farmers profitable.

"Vanessa Kummer has been an excellent representative for North Dakota soybean farmers on USB for the past eight years," says Monte Peterson, Chairman of the North Dakota Soybean Council and soybean farmer from Valley City, N.D. "The North Dakota Soybean Council is extremely proud of Vanessa and all her accomplishments on USB, and we wish her nothing but the best on the coming year in her role as chairperson."

Vanessa, along with her husband, Paul, and son, Blaine, operates a family farm in Colfax.  With 34 years of experience in farming, Kummer has been involved with other agricultural organizations, including the North Dakota Soybean Growers Association as a board member, treasurer and past president; and the North Dakota Corn Growers Association.  She is also active within her community with Our Saviors Lutheran Church in Colfax, past 4-H leader, softball coach and a member of the North Dakota State College of Science's athletic hall of fame. 

North Dakota soybean farmers across the state are represented on the North Dakota Soybean Council Board, which oversees a grass roots promotion, research and marketing program funded by soybean checkoff dollars. The Council's mission is to invest and leverage North Dakota soy checkoff resources to provide a high quality competitive product in a global marketplace.  The North Dakota Soybean Council policies are established by a board consisting of eight soybean growers.  The Council is organized by North Dakota State law. 

Source: North Dakota Soybean Growers Association
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.